Event: Mapping Science and Technology in Africa

Cite as:

Chaudhury, Aadita. 2018. "EVENT: Mapping Science and Technology in Africa." In Events: STS in “Africa", created by Aadita Chaudhury. In STS in “Africa” in Formation, created by Angela Okune and Aadita Chaudhury. In STS Across Borders Digital Exhibit, curated by Aalok Khandekar and Kim Fortun. Society for Social Studies of Science. August.


This conference, hosted by Wits Institute for Social & Economic Research (WISER), Johannesburg, South Africa from 12-15 February 2014 addressed contemporary processes of modernisation by concentrating on the study of traveling technologies, promoting both conceptual and empirical work. Supposing technology transfer as a central kernel around which modernisation revolves, the conference was designed around technologies as a vantage point from which to structure analyses of modernising transformation.

This PECE essay helps to answer the STS Across Borders analytic question: "What events have marked the development of this STS formation?".

This essay is part of an essay on events that have helped to bring the "STS in Africa" formation together, which is part of a broader exhibit on "STS in Africa."

STS Across Borders In Brief

STS Across Borders is a special exhibit organized by the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) to showcase how the field of Science and Technology Studies (STS) has developed in different times, places...Read more

Schedule and Program



  • Achille Mbembe (WISER, South Africa)
  • Clapperton Chakantsa Mavhunga (MIT, USA)
  • Gabrielle Hecht (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Keith Breckenridge (WISER, South Africa)
  • Lea Velho (UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • Pritibha Mistry (World Bank)
  • Richard Rottenburg (University of Halle, Germany)

Paper Presenters

  • Aime Segla Dafon (Universite d'Abomey-Calavi, Benin)
  • Andrea Behrends (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Bill Freund (University of Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • Catherine Burns (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • Dave Walwyn (CSIR and/or University of Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Fikremarkos Merso Birhanu (Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia)
  • Herbert Muyinda (Makerere University, Uganda)
  • Hoinathy Remadji (Centre de Recherches en Anthropologie et Sciences Humaines, Tchad)
  • Isayvani Naicker (Wits University/University of Cambridge)
  • James Smith (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • John van Breda (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Julia Hornberger (University of Konstanz, Germany & Wits University, South Africa)
  • Katharina Schramm (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Lindsey Reynolds (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Luísa Reis-Castro (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Manjari Mahajan (New School, USA)
  • Norman Clark (Open University, UK)
  • Norman Schräpel (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Pamela Towela Sambo (University of Zambia)
  • Patience Mususa (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Patrício V. Langa (Eduardo Mondlane University, Mozambique)
  • Sandra Manuel (Eduardo Mondlane University, Mozambique)
  • Segla Dafon Aimé (Université d’Abomey-Calavi, Benin)
  • Stephen Sparks (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Steven Robins (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Sujit Sivasundaram (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Thomas Cousins (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)
  • Thomas Thadewaldt (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Vukile Khumalo (University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa)
  • Wesley Shrum (Louisiana State University, USA)
  • (Only) Chairs Discussant
  • Lesley Green (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Stacey Langwick (Cornell University)
  • (Only) Rapporteur
  • Faeeza Ballim (Wits University, South Africa)
  • Natasha Vally (Wits University, South Africa)
  • Sandra Calkins (University of Halle, Germany)
  • Sung-Joon Park (University of Halle, Germany)


  • Baanda A. Salim (Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania)
  • Chen Fan (Northeastern University, China)
  • Chen Jia (Northeastern University, China)
  • Diana Gibson (University of Western Cape, South Africa)
  • Howard H. Hendricks (South African National Parks)
  • Kelsey Draper (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Layla Al-Zubaidi (Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, Cape Town)
  • Tania Douglas (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Trust Saidi (Maastrich University, Netherlands)